Zyra's website //// O2 //// Mobile Phones //// Bank Hoaxes //// Genie Mobile //// Phishing //// Rogues Gallery //// Site Index
O2
hoax message
If
you receive a hoax message pretending to be from O2 like this,
it's important to know it's a phishing attack like the bank
hoaxes and not a real message from O2. If it
really was from the real O2, they
would know your name and maybe even your telephone number!
-----
Original Message -----
From: O2
To: Rosetta
Stone
Sent: Wednesday, March 15, 2006 8:14 AM
Subject: O2 Online Bill <#> Dear O2 customer,
Your O2 bill for 13/03/06 is ready for you to view online.
We will collect £86.82 from your account in accordance
with your payment terms.
Please return to the shop http://www.O2.co.uk/shop to access your account. Simply
click on the View My Bill section on the top left hand
corner of the screen and enter the username and password
you chose when you placed your order.
Can't remember your password? Please go to
https://flash.o2.co.uk/login/o2uklogin/login.html
and follow the online prompts.
You will see that your first bill contains two line
rental charges, one for your first month and the second
for the next month (in advance). In future, you will
simply be charged monthly in advance.
If you need any help understanding your bill, please go
to http://www.O2.co.uk/help and enter your mobile number
under Bill Enquiries to view our FAQs.
Thanks for choosing O2.
Got a mate who's always a bit strapped?
Save them some money - tell them about O2
http://www.o2.co.uk/shop
Please note that this email has been sent to you from an
unmonitored email account so replies to it will go
unanswered. If you need more help, please visit our
online Help Centre (http://www.o2.co.uk/help)
O2 UK Limited. Registered office is at 260 Bath Road, SL1
4DX
|
Again
a very similar formula to the bank hoax type of
thing where they are trying to fool you into giving away your
personal password account details etc. If you had clicked on the
links in the rogue message you would not end up at O2 but instead
would be directed to http;/st#annes,com. Try to avoid being
caught out by this kind of thing. Also see other examples of iffy
e-mails stuffed and mounted at the Rogues
Gallery
In
the meantime, real Mobile Phones are
available from the genuine places advertised here, including O2